

The Capitol Theatre Restoration Society Annual General Meeting Wednesday, October 23, 2023 at 5:00pm at the Capitol Theatre

Meeting Minutes

In attenance : Stephanie Fischer, Claire Hallam, Susan Kurtz, Lindsay Clague, Taina Gaitan Morales, Avi Philipps, David Dobie, Terry Brennan, Scott Pentecost, Pat Henman, Robyn Lamb, Heather Gingras, Bonnie Baker, Jess Phillips, Sela Phillips, Cyrus Phillips, Leah Gray, Ian Johnston, Ian Wood, Leslie Payne, Bruce Ramsay, Lisa Ramsay.

Agenda, Minutes from last AGM and Financial Statements April 30, 2023 were distributed for review

- 1. Call to Order at 5:05pm
- 2. Indigenous Acknowledgment

The Capitol Theatre Board of Directors acknowledges that the theatre is located on the traditional unceded territory of the Sinixt Confederacy Arrow Lakes peoples and also acknowledge the enduring presence of the the Yaqan Nukiy Lower Kootenay Band peoples and the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit people here on this land that we all call home.

We do this to reaffirm our commitment and responsibility to establish relationship and improve our own understanding of local Indigenous peoples and their cultures as well as acknowledge the mistakes of the past and dedicate ourselves to move forward in a spirit truth and collaboration.

3. Adoption of the Agenda

Call for Adoption of Agenda

Motion that the agenda be adoptedMoved byLindsay ClagueSeconded byDavid DobieAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednone

Carried

4. Adoption of The Minutes:

Is there any Business arising from Minutes?

Motion that the minutes from the Annual General Meeting from October 26, 2022 be adopted

Moved byScott PentecostSeconded byRobynLambAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarriedVenter

5. President's Report: read by Claire Hallam and Lindsay Clague

Motion that the President's report be adopted as read.Moved byDavid DobieSeconded byLeslie PayneAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarried

6. Financial Summary Report: read by Susan Kurtz

Motion that the Financial report be adopted as read.Moved byTaina Gaitan MoralesSeconded byDavid DobieAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarriedVertice

7. Appointment of Financial Advisors:

Motion that Grant Thornton be engaged to conduct the financial review for the fiscal year 2023 - 2024 ending April 30, 2024.

Q: How often does theatre meet auditor needs? A: This is a future plan.

Moved by	Lindsay Clague
Seconded by	Pat Henman
Any Discussion	n none
All in favor	yes
Opposed	none
Carried	

8. Board Elections

Before we begin the Board elections, I want to take a moment to express our heartfelt appreciation to our Board President Claire Hallam for her devoted six-year service on the Board. Working under Claire's steadfast leadership has been an incredible privilege for all of us, as she expertly steered the Capitol Theatre through the trials of the pandemic, offering vital support to the Executive Director during challenging periods.

I would also like to convey our gratitude to Lisa Ramsay. Even in the midst of her increasingly busy life, she remained dedicated to the Board. In addition to her valuable volunteer contributions on the Board, both Lisa and her partner, Bruce, extended financial support to the Capitol Theatre, which facilitated the hiring of an outreach and engagement programmer. Furthermore, through our Footlights Academy program, Lisa introduced the joy of music to hundreds of students, making a significant impact on their artistic experiences.

We also send a shout out and special acknowledgment to the wonderful Olivia Bogaard, who served as the Assistant Technical Director for many years and has now embarked on new adventures in Edmonton.

Board Nominee(s): 1 year term returning Board member:

Scott Pentecost and Susan Kurz

Board Nominee(s): second year of a two-year term

Lindsay Clague, Eden Dupont, David Dobie, Avi Phillips, Taina Gaitan Morales

Motion: That all returning Board members be elected as named.Moved byRobyn LambSeconded byClaire HallamAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarriedVertice Seconded Secon

Board nominations: Avi Phillips nominates Robyn Lamb Claire Hallam nominates Heather Gingras

Calling for nominations from the floor

Call for nominations from the floor

Call for nominations from the floor

Hearing none

Motion: That Robyn Lamb and Heather Gingras be elected to the Capitol Theatre Restoration Society Board for a two-year term.

Moved byDavid DobieSeconded byPat HenmanAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarriedVent

9. Adjournment

Motion: That the meeting is adjourned at 5:34pm.Moved bySusan KurtzSeconded byClaireHallamAny DiscussionAny DiscussionnoneAll in favoryesOpposednoneCarriedVersen