

The Capitol Theatre Restoration Society
Annual General Meeting
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 at 5:00pm
at the Capitol Theatre

In attendance:

Bonnie Baker, Lindsay Clague, Eden DuPont, Allison Girvan, Pat Glackin, Claire Hallam, Susan Kurtz, Anne Macdonald, Gregory Mackenzie, Dorothy Measures, Scott Pentecost, Heather Shippit, June Spearman, Lisa Trimboli-Ramsay, Vicki Valks, Ian Wood, David Dobie, Lesley Payne, Avi Phillips, Taina Gaitan, Kyla Hurst, Olivia Niese

- Agenda, Minutes from last AGM and Financial Statements April 30, 2022 were distributed for review.
- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Indigenous Acknowledgment

The Capitol Theatre Board of Directors acknowledges that the theatre is located on the traditional unceded territory of the sn ayckstx Sinixt Confederacy Arrow Lakes peoples and the Yaqan Nukiy Lower Kootenay Band peoples. We honour the enduring presence all First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in the community.

3. Adoption of the Agenda

Call for Adoption of Agenda

Motion that the agenda be adopted Moved by Vicki Valks
Seconded by Bonnie Baker
Any Discussion - none
All in favor - yes
Opposed - none
Carried

4. Adoption of The Minutes:

Is there any Business arising from Minutes? none

Motion that the minutes from the Annual General Meeting from November 15, 2021 be adopted

Moved by Heather Shipitt Seconded by Lindsay Clague Any Discussion - none All in favor - yes Opposed - none Carried

5. President's Report: read by Claire Hallam and Heather Shippit

Motion that the President's report be adopted as read.

Moved by June Spearman
Seconded by Vicki Valks
Any Discussion - none
All in favor - yes
Opposed - none
Carried

- Capitol Theatre's marketing video screening
- 6. Financial Summary Report:

Summary read by Susan Kurtz

Motion that the Financial Report be adopted as read. **Moved** by Lindsay Clague

Seconded by Anne Macdonald

Any Discussion - none

All in favor - yes

Opposed - none

Carried

7. Appointment of Financial Advisors:

Motion that Grant Thornton be engaged to conduct the financial review for the fiscal year 2022 - 2023 ending April 30, 2023.

Moved by Susan Kurtz Seconded by Vicki Valks Any Discussion - none All in favor - yes Opposed - none Carried

8. Board Elections

Before we start with the Board elections, I would like to thank Gregory Mackenzie who has fulfilled his six-year term on the Board. It was an immense pleasure to have worked with Gregory – Gregory was the secretary for two terms, he designed the Capitol Theatre brochure for five years and was the visionary for the theatre's Footlights Academy program offering workshops for youth age 6-10. His knowledge of Board work and his experience as a filmmaker and film director was a wonderful asset to the Board members.

I would also like to thank Heather Shippit who is taking a break from Board work. Her life got very busy and while we are sad to see her go, we hope that she will return in the near future.

Board Nominee(s): 1 year term: returning Board member:

Claire Hallam and Lisa Trimboli-Ramsay

Board Nominee(s): second year of a two-year term:

Lindsay Claque

and two-year term returning Board members:

Susan Kurtz and Scott Pentecost

Motion: That all returning Board members be elected as named.

Moved by Gregory Mackenzie Seconded by Heather Shippit Any Discussion - none All in favor - yes Opposed - none

Carried

Board nominations:

Eden Dupont, Avi Phillips, David Dobie, Tania Gaitan

All nominated Board members accept the nomination.

Calling for nominations from the floor Calling for nominations from the floor Hearing none

Motion: That all above nominated individuals be elected to the Capitol Theatre Restoration Society Board for a two-year term.

Moved by Gregory Mackenzie Seconded by Susan Kurtz Any Discussion - none All in favor - yes Opposed - none Carried

7. Adjournment

Motion: That the meeting be adjourned at 5:45pm
Moved by Bonnie Baker
Seconded by Vicki Valks
Any Discussion - none
All in favor - yes
Opposed - none
Carried